View Article

168 Film Festival Winners Press Release


Brother Takes Speed Category at 168 Film Fest

 Team "Brother" Awarded Best Speed Film with Presenters TC Stallings, Bill Ewing and John David Ware – Photo by William A. Kidston

LOS ANGELES, CA – Speed film, Brother was honored as the Best Speed Film at the fifteenth Annual 168 Film Festival at Regal Cinemas Premiere House at LA LIVE (Aug. 26-27). See Awards and Nominations here.  2017 DVD Compilation here. All films from 2017 are now online here. See Festival Photos here.

"Brother" also got the nod for Best Actor-Chad Brannon as Jordan, Best Cinematography-Chris Hussar and Best Sound Design-Sean Massey. The film gained 13 nominations including dueling best supporting actor nominations for Parker Mack and for former Columbia Pictures production executive and actor, Bill Ewing.  Ewing plays the father of two battling brothers, who are rushing to save their father on a tiny ship in deep space.

"Brother" was produced by Chris Hussar and directed by Daniel Furukawa, Best Speed Film winner in 2014 (producer/director of What Showers Bring).  According to Furukawa, “We shot 'Brother' in 14 hours with about $800, proving that limited budget and time excuses should not keep us from creating meaningful art. 168 gives filmmakers the opportunity to get better.“

Hussar said, "It’s an opportunity to challenge ourselves and try new things. If you want to be pushed and reach the next level, join up and have fun!"

Hussar and Furukawa are one of nine finalists who will pitch their team and a script in hopes of being selected as the partner to make the 8168 Feature Film in 2018. Eligible finalists include: Best Speed Film (and 1st and 2nd Runner Ups), Best VR Film, Best KidVid, Best International Film, Best Write of Passage Film, Best Alumni Film and James De Vince, Best Writer 168 Days Screenwriting Competition for “Military Grade.”  Writers may submit (action-adventure, thriller, mystery, sci-fi or kids/family adventure only) 1-Sheet and script to

Runner-up best speed film was perennial front-runner and 10-time 168 producer, David Kiang’s "Talentland," a "La La Land" -esque musical romp, astoundingly churned out in 168 hours by composer Guy Moon, Best Original Score winner with help from Savannah Moon, David Kiang and Joshua M. Bott.  "Talentland" won for production design-Megan Mantia, Makeup/Hair-Camille Dupin, Veronica Rodarte, Bruna Nogueira and Best Editor-David Kiang. 

Kiang said, “I couldn’t have done my first musical without this cast and crew, especially my composer Guy Moon. 168 enables filmmakers to challenge themselves and think outside the box with themes and verses of faith, to dare to make films that surprise and delight the audience as well as the filmmakers themselves.”

"Under Water" was named the 2nd runner-up Speed Film, with a Best director nod for Wes Llewellyn and Best Screenplay and Best Scriptural Integration to Amanda and Wes Llewellyn. Best Supporting Actress honors went to Amy Sutherland as Leia.

Best Actress went to Juliana Hansen as Katherine in Chase Baker’s Here; Best Actor (non-speed) went to Greg Dean as Harry in Molly Vernon’s Write of Passage film, "Abide;" and the Best Supporting Actor was Monte James as Carl in Penny Gibben’s "Opposite Actions."

Best KidVid went to 10-year-old repeat winner, Rachel Lowry for "Lost." Best International Film was "The Gift" by Andrew Matthews. Best Write of Passage Film was "Abide" by Molly Vernon.

Best Alumni Film went to the Best Director (non-speed) winner, producer/director Sheila Hart for "Remember Me," which featured Emmy Nominee Alyvia Alyn Lind as Little Maddie, acting opposite her real mother, Barbara Alyn Woods (Deb Scott on the series, "One Tree Hill"). Lind was nominated for an Emmy award in the category of Best Younger Actress on "The Young and the Restless." Lind portrayed Dolly Parton at 9 years old, in NBC Universal's "Coat Of Many Colors."

At the 168 Film Festival, mother and daughter were both nominated in the supporting category, but 9-year-old Alyvia won the award for Best Supporting Actress (non-speed). The Best Supporting Actor award went to Victor Browne as Michael Jensen and the Best Actress was Hana Hayes as Maddy Jensen. "Remember Me" composer George Oldziey also won Best Score (non-speed).

Best Music Video went to Remedy by Sheila Hart.  Best Documentary and Evangelista Awards went to Dianne Butts for "The Door" an expos√© on a pastor who witnessed his daughter’s death in a car wreck and used it to save others that night.

Audience Favorite Awards went to Gary Emrick for "One Nightstand" and to Sheila Hart for "Remember Me."

Best “168 Open” Film honors went to "Super" by actor/producer Josh Murray and to the runner up, "An Ocean Away” by Bob Arvin.

Jen Tousey & Paul Moran won in the first ever Virtual Reality category for their film "The Father's Love."

168 Founder and President John David Ware said, “It was a year of growth for 168 Film and these artists. Everyone has stretched to reach their full potential and now we go into development mode towards our first feature production with one of the 9 finalists.”

The 168 Film Project has inspired well over 1000 films created by an estimated 18,000 cast and crew. Entries now open for 168 Film Project and Write of Passage short screenwriting competition. See

# # #


THE WINNERS 2017: (Show Order)

Best Make-Up & Hair - Camille Dupin, Veronica Rodarte, Bruna Nogueira, Talentland

Best “Making of” 168 - Making of Remember Me, Sheila Hart

Best Sound Design - Sean Massey, Brother

Best Original Score Guy Moon (Savannah Moon, David Kiang, Guy Moon, and Joshua M. Bott, Talentland

Best Score (non-speed) - George Oldziey, Remember Me

Best Production Design - Megan Mantia, Talentland

Best Screenplay - Amanda & Wes Llewellyn, Under Water

Best Scriptural Integration - Amanda & Wes Llewellyn, Under Water

Evangelista Award - Dianne E. Butts, The Door

Best Editor - David Kiang, Talentland

Best Cinematography - Chris Hussar, Brother

Best Supporting Actor - Monte James as Carl, Opposite Actions

Best Supporting Actor (non-speed) - Victor Browne as Michael Jensen, Remember Me

Best Supporting Actress - Amy Sutherland as Leia, Under Water

Best Supporting Actress (non-speed) - Alyvia Alyn Lind as Little Maddie, Remember Me

Best Actress - Juliana Hansen as Katherine, Here

Best Actress (non-speed) - Hana Hayes as Maddy Jensen, Remember Me

Best Actor Chad Brannon as Jordan, Brother

Best Actor (non-speed) - Greg Dean as Harry (Father), Abide

Best Director - Wes Llewellyn, Under Water

Best Director (non-speed) - Remember Me, Sheila Hart

Audience Favorite One Nightstand, Gary Emrick

Audience Favorite Remember Me, Sheila Hart

Runner Up Best “168 Open” Film - An Ocean Away, Bob Arvin

Best “168 Open” Film - Super, Josh Murray

Best Documentary - The Door, Dianne E. Butts

Best VR Film - The Father's Love, Jen Tousey & Paul Moran

Best Music Video - Remedy, Sheila Hart

Best KidVid - Lost, Rachel Lowry

Best International Film - The Gift, Andrew Matthews

Best Write of Passage Film - Abide, Molly Vernon

Best Alumni Film - Remember Me, Sheila Hart

2ND Runner Up Best Speed Film - Under Water, Amanda Llewellyn

Runner Up Best Speed Film - Talentland, David Kiang

Best Speed Film - Chris Hussar, Brother

Actions: E-mail | Permalink

Previous Page

- Advertisement -
168 Sponsorship Opportunities